

"Together we aspire, together we achieve"

Whalley Parish Clerk 27 Waddow Grove Waddington, Clitheroe BB7 3JL M:07966 388843 E:clerk@whalleyparishcouncil.org.uk

Local Government Act 1972

Whalley Parish Council Annual Meeting of the Council

Members of the Council, you are summoned to the Annual Meeting of the Parish Council to be held on Thursday 16th May 2024 in the Calder Room, Whalley Old Grammar School at 7.00pm

Signed: EKHaworth

Liz Haworth - Clerk & Responsible Finance Officer

Minutes

Agenda items should be submitted to the Clerk seven clear days before the meeting. The Clerk will forward Councillors, all relevant information and supporting documents, 3 clear days before the meeting.

1.	To Elect a Chairman	
	Cllr Martin Highton was nominated for Chairman of the Parish Council. The nomination was unanimously agreed. Cllr Highton signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office as Chairman.	2490/24
2.	Attendance & Apologies	
	Present: Cllr Caroline Allen, Cllr Clifford Ball, Cllr June Brown, Cllr Judith Carlton Cllr Martin Highton, Cllr Ged Mirfin, Cllr Jonathan Smith, Cllr John Threlfall, Cllr Richard Vickers. In Attendance: Liz Haworth Clerk, 2 members of the public.	2491/24
3.	Vice Chairman	
	Cllr John Threlfall was nominated for Vice Chairman of the Parish Council. The nomination was unanimously agreed.	2492/24
4.	Representatives on Committees and other Outside Bodies	
	It was resolved to review and nominate representatives to Committees and Outside Bodies.	2493/24
	It was resolved to nominate the Councillors as representatives of the Council to the appointments below.	

Committees & *Outside Bodies	Councillor(s)
*Adam Cottam Trust (3 members to serve for 4 yrs (ending 2027)	C Allen, C Ball, J Brown
Churchyard Committee	C Allen, C Ball, M Highton, J Threlfall
*LALC Ribble Valley Area Committee	R Vickers
*Parish Liaison Committee	M Highton, J Threlfall

Representatives to

Representatives to Committees & *Outside Bodies	Councillor(s)
Planning Committee	Full Council, J Threlfall (nominated as Chairman)
*Speed Working Party Group	J Threlfall
*QEII Playing Fields Trust	J Brown
*Village Hall Committee	J Threlfall
Whalley, Barrow and Wiswell Joint Burial Committee	C Allen, J Carlton, M Highton, J Threlfall, R Vickers
*Whalley Education Foundation (2 members to serve for 3 yrs, current term (2022-2025))	C Allen, J Brown

5.	WPC Policies	
	It was resolved to confirm the Parish Council Policies are up to date.	2494/2
5.	Parish Council Meetings	
	It was resolved to agree the dates of the annual calendar of meetings.	2495/2
	Meetings of the Council will remain as every third Thursday of the month, except December.	
	Meetings will be held at 7.30pm in the Calder Room of Whalley Old Grammar School Community Centre, Station Road, Whalley BB7 9RH, preceded by the Planning Committee meeting at 7pm.	
	June 20 th 2024 July 18 th 2024 August 15 th 2024 September 19 th 2024 October 17 th 2024 November 21 st 2024 Budget Precept Setting Meeting November 2024 date TBC January 16 th 2025 February 20 th 2025 March 20 th 2025 April 17 th 2025 Annual Meeting of the Parish May 1 st 2025 Annual Meeting of the Council May 15 th 2025 Meeting Dates to be displayed on WPC Noticeboard and WPC website. https://www.whalleyparishcouncil.org.uk/meeting-dates.php	

7.	Next Annual Meeting of the Parish Council	
	It was resolved to agree the date of the next Annual Parish Meeting of 15 th May	2496/24
	2025.	

Meeting Closed at 7.10pm

Draft Minutes Subject to Confirmation

Signed by Chairman	Date
Cllr Martin Highton	